Latest News

Three ERST Schools achieve Bronze Medal Success at the 10th International Junior Science Olympiad

The International Junior Science Olympiad (IJSO) is an annual competition in science for students of age sixteen years or younger. It involves individual and team competitions in the Natural Sciences – in Physics, Chemistry and Biology. It is an annual event held in December and hosted by one of the participating countries.

The 10th International Junior Science Olympiad was held at Pune, India from 3 to 12 December, 2013.

Over 200 students from 42 countries performed scientific experiments in the nine-day competition.

Six students representing Ireland travelled to India for the International Junior Science Olympiad in December, 2013.  These six students had previously won either gold or silver medals at the Irish Junior Science Olympiad (IrJSO) competition held in Dublin City University (DCU) in October last. Three of those six students were from ERST schools and had won Gold Medals at the IrJSO.  They are Eamonn Murphy, St. Mary’s Academy, Carlow, Eoin Caffrey, Ardscoil Rís, N.C.R., Limerick, and Kevin Fletcher, Coláiste Eanna, CBS, Dublin 16.

We are delighted to announce that all three were awarded bronze medals at the International Junior Science Olympiad (IJSO).  ERST wishes them many congratulations on this magnificent achievement. 

Pictured with Dr. Paraic James, Principal Scientist & Pedagogical Leader, of the Irish Junior Science Olympiad, DCU, are the 4 bronze medal winners from Ireland, three of whom attend ERST schools:

Eamonn Murphy, St. Mary's Academy, Carlow.
Eoin Caffrey, Ard Scoil Ris, N.C.R., Limerick.
Kevin Fletcher, Colaiste Eanna C.B.S., Dublin 16.
Liam Toebes, Carragaline Community School, Cork.

   Featured School

St. Joseph’s C.B.S. Secondary School

St. Joseph’s C.B.S. Secondary School

Member's Login

Enter User Details

About Edmund Rice Schools Trust